Emotion Overload

I didn’t realize how difficult it would be to write a blog until this moment. I’m currently on my flight to Amsterdam with a plethora of emotions: there are butterflies in my stomach that have grown from my anticipation, excitement and nerves. Since I can remember, I have wanted to study abroad. Over the past few weeks I felt incredibly blessed to tell whoever would listen that I was spending the first semester of my junior year in Amsterdam. Although I have been traveling Europe since the age of 5, I have certainly not visited the Netherlands before. Right off the bat, I know this trip will be life changing for me.

I will be honest with you all — I am scared. It is not the idea of being alone that scares me (even though that itself is very frightening); it is more the idea of being so far away from my family (shout outs to Mom and Dad). I commute to Hofstra meaning I get to see my parents and other family quite often. This will be the first time that I am without any of my family for an extended period of time. I think I will be able to handle that in the long run, but right now the thought that parents and I have an ocean separating us terrifies me. But for now, I am not trying to think about that. I have so many things to look forward to!

It’s currently 9 AM in the Netherlands right now and 3 AM in New York and I’m somewhere 3,000 feet in the air still. With so many emotions running through my body I just cannot seem to fall asleep. Currently, I am feeling very relieved to be away from New York. Do not get me wrong; New York is such an amazing city with so much to offer. Unfortunately or fortunately for some, I am the type of girl who becomes bored of routine and leaving to live in Europe for 5 months is just what the doctor ordered. (Might as well include here that I am not the best writer. I have so many thoughts that run through my mind so it sounds very unorganized but that is just who I am.)

Before I end this blog post, let me just introduce myself to those who do not know me. My name is Mariam Chubinidzhe; I am a junior business law major at Hofstra University with plans to go to law school in two years. I hope you all have enjoyed my first blog post! I look forward to writing down more in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

